Run away with Girls on the Run

GOTR logo w circles.pdfGirls on the Run of South Louisiana has been around for four years and has grown from two schools to 32, including schools in Baton Rouge, Lafayette and the Mandeville/Covington area. According to the website, its mission is to “inspire girls to be joyful, healthy and confident using a fun, experience-based curriculum which creatively integrates running.” The South Louisiana council is only a piece of this international organization, which reaches 47 states and Canada. There were 139,000 participants around the nation in 2012. That’s incredible!

GOTR has received traditional media coverage up to this point, which most of the stories sounded similar to my paragraph above. None of the ones we’ve read in class have brought me to tears, blubbering like a baby or moved me to the point of wanting to get involved. Maybe I’m being a grinch, or maybe we need to cover GOTR at a different angle, but I’m hoping it’s the latter. 

I will be covering the GOTR team at Baton Rouge’s Sacred Heart of Jesus School for my MC 4001 class. Our project is to make a media kit for the team we are assigned to, but I’m really hoping to tell someone’s story. Someone that everyone can relate to. We’ve all been tween girls (okay maybe not the guys, but they have all known one at some point), and it’s hard! You deal with things that are unimaginably difficult. If I could relay a girl’s story that her peers could relate to and show how much GOTR has made an impact in her life, then I think I would have done my job well. So here’s hopin’!

Being a Young Life leader, I “mentor” high school girls on the daily. It’s all about getting on their level and living life with them. If that means jamming out to One Direction, I’ll do it (little do they know, I really love 1D…). I think my experience with that is going to help me in being able to dig out a story. A girl isn’t going to share anything with you if she doesn’t feel comfortable, and she’s not going to feel comfortable if you’re cold and uninviting. You gotta loosen up and get goofy; they’ll get goofy right back.

BUT it’s a curse within a blessing. I know for a fact that once I meet these girls I’m going to get emotionally involved. I’m going to want to be with them through the hard things and be silly with them when it’s aces. That’s what I’ve been trained to do. It’s going to be a wake up call for me when I have to find the happy medium between being myself and being professional. So say a little prayer and keep you fingers crossed that I’ll be able to figure that out.

xoxo Alli

Leave a Reply

